the Feminine, the Redeemer

It has been said Mary Magdalene was at the foot of the cross when Christ died and that she was the one he first appeared to after his Resurrection. It is said that her anointing made him King and her work in establishing the Faith was essential for its survival. Savitri married a man she also knew was destined to die, but her goodness and wit brought him back to life blessing her father and her husband’s father in the process.

Both of these women were honored and revered in their own right: powerful and blessed. Yet, they choose a life dedicated to their beloved holding the space for their beloved and bringing them to life. Their love and devotion made the lives of their men worthwhile. This is also true for Radha, in her own way.

This song by FKA twigs sounds like their hymn:

Now I yearn to follow you in everything I do.
All those years in isolation helped me want for you.
Lead me to a place I’m free from all the wrongs I do.
In return, I’ll live forever loving you.

Closer. I’m here to be closer.
Closer to you.
Closer. I’m ready now, closer.
Closer to you.

In my mind, eternal darkness.
Seemed like it was true.
Oh, so wretched.
My savior knew I was weary,
I was sleepy, but you pulled me through.
Along the sand, your footsteps gold and couth.

Closer. I’m here to be closer.
Closer to you.
Closer. I’m ready now, closer.
Closer to you.

All those years in isolation…

Leave a Reply

